Young soloists (2021)

Six young soloists played and sang self-chosen repertoire with orchestra, conducted by Dominic Seldis, a highly varied program mixing showstoppers and lesser-known gems from several centuries of solistic repertoire. Most soloists presented themselves to the public for the first time on this scale. The orchestra was co-prepared by Ivan Cheng.

With mezzo soprano Cashlin Oostindië
Elgar: Sea pictures (mvt. 2 and 4)
Händel: Priva son d’ogni conforto from Giulio Cesare

With soprano Doeschka van Ginkel
Gilbert & Sullivan: The sun whose rays from The Mikado
Vivaldi: Domine deus from Gloria
Mozart: In uomini, in soldati from Cosi fan tutte

MWith guitarist Paul Tudora
Rodrigo: Concierto de Aranjuez (mvt. 2)

With flutist Marta Vilaça
Mozart: Fluitconcert in G (mvt. 1)

With violinist Jessica Lukken
Mozart: Rondo KV373
Wieniawski: Polonaise de Concert no. 1

With violinist Lucien Renette
Ravel: Tzigane

Siebold project (2019)

A cooperation between T.O.P. Orchestra and Nanagen String orchestra from Tokyo
n the past years, String Orchestra Nanagen from Tokyo gave concerts in the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam three times. In March 2019, they return, this time for a collaboration with the T.O.P. Orchestra. Their visit will be answerd by a visit from the T.O.P. Orchestra to Tokyo in July of the same year. This establishes a unique artistic collaboration between cultures geographically far apart, a great learning opportunity for orchestra members, conductor, soloists and the two orchestras’ boards. The project was led by conductor Kent Moussault.

Mozart – Sinfonia concertante for violin, viola and orchestra;
Mozart – Symphony no. 29;
Grieg – Holberg suite;
Melle Heij – Die Verhüllung, comission based on music from the famous German-Dutch Japan expert Philipp von Siebold.

More information

October 2018 – Tsjaikovski, Bruch en Ravel led by Dominic Seldis

Arthur den Haan, both a physicist and a pianist, played Bach’s 1st piano concerto and Mozart’s 23rd piano concerto in October 2015 conducted by Dominic Seldis and an orchestra he composed himself. This inspired the founding of the T.O.P. Orchestra, which now, on October 23rd 2018 in the beautiful Stadsgehoorzaal Leiden, will accompany Arthur in what we’re convinced is a unique, virtuoso and inspired interpretation of Tchaikovsky’s legendary 1st piano concerto, alongside more wonderful soloists in Bruch’s double concerto for clarinet, viola and orchestra, Tchaikovsky’s Valse-Scherzo and Ravel’s Pavane pour une infante defunte! All this will be conducted by Dominic Seldis

– Pjotr Iljitsj Tsjaikovski
    Valse-Scherzo, op. 34, for violin and orchestra
    Salomé Bonnema – violin
– Maurice Ravel
    Pavane pour une infante défunte
– Max Bruch
    Concerto for clarinet, viola and orchestra
    Lea Hemmerlin – clarinet, Dominika
    Dudek – viola
– Pjotr Iljitsj Tchaikovsky
    Piano concerto no. 1
    Arthur den Haan – piano

Project Diepenbrock (October 2017)

On October 28th 2017, The T.O.P. Orchestra was conducted by Aristide Moari in a concert in the great hall of the Royal Institute for the Tropics in Amsterdam as part of the poetry and musical festival ‘Festijn van Tachtig’ by Stichting Feest der Poezie. Below is an impression of the concert, with Laurène Baron (violin), Walther Deubel (tenor), Susanne Winkler (soprano) in works by Dutch composer Alphons Diepenbrock; as well as Simon Mulder (recitation) in the world premiere of ‘Mijn liefste was dood’, composed Kaori Neus on a text by Herman Gorter.

Mozart and Bach in the Volkshuis in Leiden (May 2017)

May 20th 2017, in the Leidse Volkshuis (Leiden), we performed J. S. Bach’s concerto for violin, oboe and orchestra, Mozart’s concerto for flute, harp and orchestra, Marcello’s oboe concerto in d, Mozart’s symphony no. 29 and ‘Mini concerto’ by Arthur den Haan. Soloists were Anna Marieke Zijlstra (oboe), Lucia Boeken (violin), Marloes van Stormbroek (flute) and Michelle Verheggen (harp). The concert was led by Kent Hugo Moussault.

First performance by the ensemble

The ensemble of the T.O.P. orchestra had a performance in Rotterdam at studio ‘de bakkerij’ (Brahms’ piano quintet). It was a fantastic evening. A good artist has made a drawing of the quintet. You can see below. Reference: hermanschildert

© Sam Boerlijst    Design: HTML5 UP